[NEWS] Michelle Obama To Release Hip-Hop Album In September

Among the many talents of First Lady Michelle Obama include writing, practicing law, and fitness education – but no one would ever think hip-hop. While books and litigation haven’t been Michelle’s primary interests of late, she’s shifted her focus towards fitness by preparing the release of her hip-hop debut ‘A Healthier America’. The compilation disc features a host of Michelle’s favorite artists – both mainstream and indie – working towards the common goal of getting America fit. ‘A Healthier America’ boasts names such as Jordin Sparks, Monifah, Chauncey Hawkins (formerly known as Loon), and Ashanti among others. While the list seems overly saturated, two names make the project slightly cringeworthy – Ashthon Jones and Dr. Oz. Jones was the 13th place reject on ‘American Idol’ season 10, most widely known for butchering the Diana Ross classic “When You Tell Me That You Love Me”, but went on to appear on albums by Grammy-award winning Christian rapper Lecrae and hip-hop intellectual Big K.R.I.T. Out of all the collaborations, it’s definitely Dr. Oz’s contribution that’s the weirdest. The medical practitioner widely known for his appearances on ‘The Oprah Winfrey Show’ and his own series ‘The Dr. Oz Show’ simply has no business on a hip-hop album. But then again, neither does Michelle. There’s no word on the production behind the album or whether Michelle will be singing or rapping, but it will be available as a free download on September 30th – no Barack included. Check out the official tracklisting below (source).

1. Everybody (feat. Jordin Sparks, Doug E. Fresh, Ryan Beatty, Artie Green, Dr. Oz, and the Hip Hop Doc)
2. U R What You Eat (feat. Salad Bar [Matisyahu, Ariana Grande, Travis Barker])
3. Let’s Move (feat. Doug E. Fresh, Artie Green, Chauncey Hawkins, and Easy AD)
4. Just Believe (feat. Ashanti, Gerry Gunn, Artie Green, Robbie Nova, and Chauncey Hawkins)
5. Veggie Luv (feat. Monifah and J Rome)
6. Hip Hop FEET (Finding Exercise Energy Thresholds) (feat. DMC, Artie Green, and Chauncey Hawkins)
7. Stronger (feat. Shayna Steele, Jeremy Jordan, Our Time, and Nils Lofgren)
8. Give Myself a Try (feat. Ryan Beatty)
9. Jump Up (It’s a Good Day) (Let’s Move Version) (feat. Brady Rymer and the Little Band That Could)
10. Hip Hop LEAN (feat. Artie Green)
11. Pass The Rock (feat. Iman Schumpert and Artie Green)
12. Good Living (feat. Ashthon Jones)
13. Beautiful (feat. Daisy Grant and Artie Green)
14. Change the Game (feat. The Happiness Club and Naledge)
15. Wanna Jump (Let’s Move) (feat. Paul Burch and WPA Ballclub)
16. Mother May I? (feat. Amelia Robinson)
17. We Like Vegetables (feat. Los Barkers!)
18. Get Up Sit Up (feat. Ian James and Ricky Baitz)
19. One Step Forward (feat. Samite)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s